Off we go…again

So I’m brushing the dust off my blog and have decided to take up typing out an update and to peal back a layer of skin and let flow where I am today. So over the past year things have been the roller coaster ride we never asked for.The job I had decided to close up shop in the building I’ve come to know and a job i’ve come to love. I made the most of the last 3 months following the news of the layoff and put in some effort to find a plan B as I was not traveling, let along uproot my family to a major city. So I made a decision to find work closer to home and I had, and it was just in time as my start date was the week after the site closed. I was one of the last few to bid a farewell to my friends whom I’ve worked with and got to know as that chapter came to a close. 

 

Now with the start of my new job, came new friends and new adventures! I became friends with some of the most unique, talented, and as down to earth as you could find. When I joined the new company I had finally thought that this was it, this was going to be the job I knew I wasn’t going to leave and it happened again. On a faithful Saturday in February, I received a call, and bad news stuck again. for the second time in less then a year, I was on the outside looking in. Thankfully I had built up enough weeks to be able to collect temporary assistance until I found new employment. Now while being out of work, I did make the best of my time by doing the one thing I was not able to do in a long time, and that is spend it with my family. We had an adventure to Pa to visit the rest of my family and friends, we had fun in the snow when it fell, and enjoyed the sun shine on the best days of spring.

 

The time off gave me the chance to be able to visit T’s school for an event called Real men read day. It was something new that was started this year that gave the dads, grandpas, and brothers a chance to come and read to the children in the school. That was an experience I will carry with me as it gave me a chance to be closer to my son, something I missed. I also had a chance to be able to spend time with my loving fiance. She has been a rock, keeping me from falling to pieces when everything else seemed to come undone. Without her, I don’t think we would have been able to make it like we did. I know that because of me being out at work, we drifted apart and I don’t think she will ever know how being able to spend time with her being off of work had made me appreciate her more then I could ever express.

 

So now for the present…Two weeks ago, I received a phone call that took this ride on a complete 180. While being out shopping with the family, my cell phone rang with the good news, the best news in month. I was offered a job to start that following Monday! It wasn’t too far away from home, it was familiar ground for me, and let’s face it, the pay was better. So I made the decision and took it. I was up the next day to fill out paperwork, and just like that, I’m back to work. I’ve completed my first week of training and so far so good. I’m not as nervous as I thought I would be considering that there is so much more to learn but life is all about learning something new. So we’re off and running…again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

